District News

Congratulations Cross Team Teams!

The Boys XC Team won another regional championship last weekend and the girls finished third overall. Ryan Roland and Reese Powell won Individual championships.Big congrats as well to the coaches, Todd and Brandye Whitsell.

Boys XC REg. Champ 2019 Girls XC Reg. 2019    

Congratulations Webster County 1WC October Employees of the Month!

Congratulations to Catherine Hughes, WCHS Teacher, and to Earl Myers, Providence Lead Custodian, for being selected the October 2019 1WC Employees of the Month! We appreciate you!   

1WC Emp Oct 2019

L to R: Tim McCormick, BOE Member, Catherine Hughes, Earl Myers, and Venita Murphy, BOE Member

Commissioner of Education Visits the Area Technology Center

Commissioner, Dr. Wayne Lewis; Amanda Ellis, Deputy Commissioner; Kristel Smith, Director of KDE Government Relations; Tom Thompson, Director of KY Technical Schools; paid a visit to the Webster County Area Technology Center on 10-16-19. The group was accompanied by Webster County school and district administrators: Senator Robby Mills: Representative Jim Gooch; Steve Henry, County Judge Executive; Larry Garrity, Administrative Consultant for the Office of Career and Technical Education and Student Transition; and Webster County Board Members, Mickey Dunbar, Cameron Edwards, and Venita Murphy. The purpose of the visit was to tour the ATC classrooms, meet the teachers and talk to some of the students. Dr. Lewis plans to visit all of the technology schools in the state. 
After spending the morning at the ATC, Dr. Lewis and other administrators traveled to Sebree Elementary for a visit.

                   Dr. Lewis and adms. ATC whole class

                   Justin Newton ATC  Dr. Lewis 

Youth Ag Days 2019

The annual Webster County Youth Ag Days for all 4th-grade students was held on September 27th at Blanford Farms in Poole. The annual event is a joint effort among various community agencies and the Webster County Extension Office. Webster County Schools thanks Blanford Farms, the participants, sponsors and all who gave their time and talents to make this day a success for our Webster County youth.

                        Ag Days 19 Ag Days 19

                        Ag Days 19 Ag Days 19

Congratulations September 2019 1WC Employees!

Congratulations to Danielle Varnado, Sebree teacher, and to Harold Radford, WCHS regular substitute, for being named the September 2019 1WC Employees of the Month!  We appreciate all you do for WC!!

Sept 2019 Emp of the Month

L to R:  Mickey Dunbar, BOE Chairperson; Harold Radford; Danielle Varnado; Venita Murphy, BOE member

Webster County Hosts Seminar on "The Adolescent Brain and Substance Misuse"

Webster County was fortunate to have Dr. Patrick Withrow, Director of Outreach and Physician Advisor for Baptist Health Paducah, speak on "The Adolescent Brain and Substance Misuse" on September 11th at the Extension Office. Dr. Withrow educated the group about the danger of E-cigs, vaping, alcohol, and other drugs on the brain.

A special thank you to the collaborating partners: Webster County Community Education, True Blue, Webster County Health Coalition, Baptist Health Madisonville, UK Cooperative Extension Service, and the Webster County Senior Center.

                         True Blue Seminar 9-11-19 True Blue 9-11-19

                         True Blue 9-11-19 True Blue 9-11-19

1WC Council of Councils Meeting

The WCBOE met with the Council of Councils on Sept. 9th. District administrators and directors, school councils, and students participated in the meeting.

Dan Munchbach from the US Census Bureau shared information about the 2020 Census and the important role it plays in funding for our school districts.
WC District Administrators and Directors shared information about activities that took place over the summer and the status of various district initiatives and projects.

In keeping with the district's focus on "Future Ready Learners," WCMS students and Dwayne Buchanan, WCMS Science teacher, shared drone and robot (STEM) demonstrations.

Supt. Rhonda Callaway, asked participants and councils to compile a list of strengths and things that would be an opportunity for improvement in their schools.
Students then shared their lists with the whole group. The feedback is compiled and provided to each council and district administrators.

                     Dixon Council of Councils 19 WCMS students at C of C 19

                     Mr. Harrel at C of C 19 Sebree C of C 19

Congratulations August 2019 1WC Employees of the Month!

Congratulations to Jeff Jones, Area Technology Center teacher and SkillsUSA sponsor, for being selected 1WC Certified Staff Employee of the Month and to Larry Vaughn, WCMS Lead Custodian, for being selected the 1WC Support Staff Employee of the Month. We appreciate you!!!

Auig 1W Employees 2019

Pictured L to R: Tim McCormick, BOE member, Larry Vaughn, Jeff Jones, Venita Murphy, BOE member

Congratulations to Dixon and Sebree Elementary Schools!

Congratulations to Dixon Elementary for receiving a 2019 High Attendance Award with 95.10% average attendance and to Sebree Elementary for being the 1WC District Attendance Winner with 95.22% average attendance for the 2018-19 school year.

                                   Sebree                                 Dixon

                              Sebree att winner Dixon High Att award

                     L to R: Jami Busbey, Rhonda Callaway, Dawn Forker       Eric Wheatley, Rhonda Callaway, Mary Schalk


***All Webster County Schools' campuses and athletic fields are tobacco and e-cig free zones.  No pets are allowed at any Webster County Schools' athletic fields/events.